AzureCopy UI version

Seeing the popularity of AzureCopy increasing (very satisfying I have to admit) I’ve been thinking about writing a few desktop application versions to assist people. These would be “native” applications (not native as in bare metal, but I mean purpose built per OS) and would require a fair bit of design and effort.

The question I keep asking myself is, “Is it worth it?”. Migration from one cloud storage provider to another is a rare task. Even then it would usually (I hope) would be performed by a fairly technical person, so command line tools (such as AzureCopy) isn’t daunting. So is the need/want for a UI based application remotely needed by anyone? Chances are I’ll write them regardless (have already started on the Windows version) but am honestly wondering if I’m writing them without an audience.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

