DocumentDB Stored Procedure vs User Defined Function follow up.

It was pointed out to me that in my previous post my sprocs and UDFs were performing calls to toLowerCase() and that it could be slowing down my results. After a bit of modifying the documents in my DocumentDB collection I now have 2 properties, one called “Message” which is the original text and one called MessageLower (can you guess?). Now no toLowerCase() needs to be called when doing comparisons. The change in execution time is miniscule. For the Sproc (which was fine performance wise) the average execution time went down about 3-4ms (still around 130-140ms). Now maybe for some systems 3-4ms is critical but for the system I’m working on doubling the size of the documents to get 3-4ms off isn’t a worthy trade off.

I’m definitely glad it was suggested (was on my todo list regardless) and that I tested it. At least now I know that in the big scheme of things, toLowerCase() doesn’t have *that* much of an impact.

Leave a Reply

